Just a crutch

Is psychiatric medication “just a crutch”?

Yes. Under a specific definition it is.

What is a crutch? What is it for?

It helps you keep walking. It helps you keep moving. You can’t address the problem directly (magically repairing bone) so you take an indirect step where longer term medication and intervention eventually works out.

Some argue that psychiatric drugs are just a crutch.

Tom Cruise among them.

But I have to ask. Would you really take a crutch from a guy and tell him to walk it off? And seeing as a good chunk of mental illness is chronic, would you take a wheelchair away from a parapalegic and tell him to walk it off?

If I could directly fix my brain chemistry, I would. Problem is I can’t. The next best solution is to make things livable.

So are psychiatric drugs just a crutch?

Yes.

And please give me my crutch back, I need to get to work.

–Unthought

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Just a crutch

  1. Noah Yaffe says:

    Your posts are very good. It makes sense coming from a person of your experience and intelligence. Keep it up.

  2. LOVE this – well done! In one of my TeleClass seminars (ADD: Attention to the Darn Details), one of the “Darn Details” we look at are Crutches – those items you need to GET down the road (vs. “walk” down the road) – for exactly the point you make here – more than just meds, btw. When I offer it again, I’ll link the announcement materials back here.

    MEANWHILE, I’ve linked it to post #1 of a new series on my ADD-focused WordPress blog (When Beloved Has ADD . . . alternatives to murder and divorce!).

    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, SCAC, MCC – (blogging at ADDandSoMuchMore and on ADDerWorld – dot com!)
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

Leave a Reply

